Wednesday, April 13, 2011


Bassist Dave Holland
Yesterday, Terri Pontremoli, the Detroit jazz festival's Artistic Director, made public the lineup for the 2011 Detroit Jazz Festival. “We Bring You the World” is this year's theme. Pontremoli, booked jazz acts from Africa, Japan and Brazil, making the four-day event global friendly. Composer and bandleader Jeff “Tain” Watts is the festival’s Artist-in-Residence. The drummer will perform in a number configurations. Some of the internationally acclaimed acts on the bill are Jason Moran, Vijay Iyer, Joe Lovano Us Five, Steve Wilson & Wilsonian’s Grain, Dave Holland Octet and the Anat Cohen Quartet. The DJF was recently haled as one of the top five jazz festivals in the world. The jazz festival runs September 2nd through 5th. For the complete lineup visit
Post a Comment